Our Coaching Staff


Sean AbelSean Abel began barbershopping in February of 1989 in St. Joseph, Missouri with the Pony Expressmen Barbershop Chorus. Singing in the bass section he soon joined the leadership team as an assistant director. Later, he was assistant director of the Omaha, Nebraska Heartland Harmonizers and then the front line director of the Sioux City, Iowa Siouxlanders Chorus. Following a 7 year hiatus, he helped form the Jefferson City, Missouri Chapter and the Show Me Showboaters Chorus. After teaching music (mostly band) in the public schools of Maysville, Missouri, Emerson, Iowa, Moville, Iowa, and Jefferson City, Missouri, Sean moved to Weed, California to teach band, music history, vocal jazz, music theory and barbershop chorus at the College of the Siskiyous. Presently, Sean is the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences at San Jose City College where he serves on the Curriculum Committee, the College Planning Council, and chairs the Strategic Planning Committee. Sean holds a Bachelors of Music Education from the University of Kansas, a Masters of Education from Lindenwood University, and is a Doctoral Candidate in Music Education at Boston University.



Paul EastmanPaul Eastman has been singing, conducting, coaching, arranging and teaching barbershop music for more than forty years. More than 75 choruses and quartets have benefited from his coaching, ranging from the beginner level to International competitor. His choral experience includes nine appearances in the Barbershop Harmony Society's International Chorus Competition, finishing as high as seventh place in the world. He has performed in many unusual venues, such as the Superbowl, the San Francisco Opera House, Gripsholm Castle in Sweden, the Waikiki Bowl, a tunnel inside Hoover Dam and Candlestick Park, where he sang the National Anthem for the SF Giants.

Past Directors

Tenure Musical Director
Unknown Oscar "Ozzie" Palos
1971(?) – 1976(?) Alfredo "Sam" Gonzales
Unknown Roger Vaughn
1976(?) – 1979 Wayne Mansfield
1979 – 1985 John Williams
1985 – 1988 Paul Eastman
1988 – 1989 Stan Neff
1989 – 2014 Steve Sammonds
2014 – present Sean Abel